Ontario Announces Recipients of David C. Onley Award for Leadership in Accessibility

Government of Ontario

News Release

Today, three individuals and four organizations from across Ontario were recognized with the David C. Onley Award for Leadership in Accessibility. 

The award, named after Ontario's 28th Lieutenant Governor, recognizes people that champion accessibility, raise awareness about the benefits of inclusion, and foster positive change in their communities. The achievements recognized are helping to improve people with disabilities' experiences in Ontario.

Individual recipients are:

  • Linda Niksic from Ottawa received the Employee Engagement Award influencing federal policy and legislation about the removal of common barriers for people with disabilities. 
  • Michael Mulligan from Mississauga received the Role Model Award for his visionary work in establishing Moving Forward, a rehabilitation facility designed to help people with disabilities retrain their neurological system and get back movement.
  • Dylan Itzikowitz from London received the Youth Leadership Award for his work to bring people together to establish The Forward Movement,which has inspired municipalities throughout Ontario to adopt a Dynamic Symbol of Access. 

Four organizations from across Ontario received a Champion Award for going beyond meeting requirements under the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act to remove barriers in workplaces and communities:  

Client Focus: