Three Young Leaders Receive the Lincoln M. Alexander Award

Ontario is recognizing three young leaders with the 2016 Lincoln M. Alexander Award for their outstanding efforts to end racial discrimination and promote positive social change.

More Information: 

The recipients are:

  • Jordan Gray of Mississauga, who founded the Mississauga-Malton Youth Association to empower diverse youth to be active participants in society.
  • Tia John of Caledon, who created learning and social opportunities for diverse students of varying abilities in her school's Planning for Independence Program
  • •Alexis Kimiko Spieldenner of Niagara-on-the-Lake, who founded the North Star Festival, which celebrates and commemorates the experiences and contributions of people of African descent in the Niagara region.

The Lincoln M. Alexander Award is presented each year to three young people who have demonstrated exemplary leadership in promoting positive social change. There are two student awards and one community award. Each recipient receives $5,000 and the Lincoln M. Alexander Award certificate.